Author & director

Maria Brendle

completed her Bachelor degree of Arts in 2013 at the University of Arts in Zurich, Switzerland. Her graduate film BLIND PASSENGER has won several awards at various international festivals, such as Best Script Writer at the Shanghai International Film Festival and Best Live Action Short at the Oscar-qualifying Chicago International Children’s Film Festival. Thereafter, she worked for various feature films for TV and the cinema. Maria received a scholarship for the Munich Screenplay Workshop and is currently working as an author and director. In April 2019 her short story «The Journey to Happiness» will be published through the publisher net-Verlag.

Producer Filmgerberei

Nadine Luechinger

graduated in 2010 in ethnology, economy and politics from the University of Zurich. For her thesis she realized the documentary LIFE IN SOAP BUBBLES as an autodidact, thereby launching her film career. The film won two awards and was shown at various national and international festivals. 2011 she started working in the field of film production in different Swiss production companies. Since 2014 she has been producing short films, feature films and documentaries at Filmgerberei in Zurich.
nl@filmgerberei.ch

Producer Filmgerberei

Flavio Gerber

founded the film production company Filmgerberei GmbH in 2008 together with his brother Silvio Gerber. As a producer and director he realizes documentaries and feature films as well as corporate films and commercials. His passion has always been devoted to the extraordinary and unheard stories of this world.
fg@filmgerberei.ch

Assistant director

Cosima Frei

discovered her interest in film during an exchange year in New Zealand and completed her master's degree in directing at the Zurich University of Arts in 2017. Currently, she is working on different projects as a director and assistant director while writing the script for her next feature film.

Fixer in Kyrgyzstan

Nadine Boller

grew up in Switzerland and is currently living in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan. In 2013 she completed her master's degree in film sciences and English linguistics at the University of Lausanne. Thereafter, she took a intensive fulltime course in documentaries at the Met Film School in Berlin. As a filmmaker and camerawoman she has already realized various projects in Kyrgyzstan with a focus on cultural and social topics.

Service production Kyrgyzstan

Cholponai Borubaeva

completed her education in film directing in the department of theatre and cinema at the Kyrgyz State Institute of Art. As an author and director she has produced various short films and has worked for many films as assistant director.

Expert for Central Asian cultures

Mahabat Sadyrbek

has studied the legal system of Kyrgyzstan for many years. Her dissertation (Institute of Central Asian Studies, Humboldt University Berlin) is a broad and empirically-based survey of the spectrum of available avenues by which people in Kyrgyzstan systematically address challenging problems and seek justice, redress, punishment, compensation, readjustment of relations or closure in relation to disputes, violence, accidents, crimes, and trouble-cases. As a native Kyrgyz woman she knows the country at first hand. Today she works as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute in Halle.

Drehbuch & Regie

Maria Brendle

schloss 2013 den Bachelor of Arts in Film an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste erfolgreich ab. Ihr Abschlussfilm BLINDER PASSAGIER feierte zahlreiche internationale Festivalerfolge u.a. Best Script Writer am Shanghai International Film Festival und Best Live Action Short am Oscar qualifizierenden Chicago International Children’s Film Festival. Es folgte die Mitarbeit an diversen Kino- und Fernsehspielfilmen. Maria erhielt ein Stipendium der 27. Drehbuchwerkstatt München/Zürich und arbeitet derzeit als Regisseurin und Autorin. Im April 2019 erscheint ihre Kurzgeschichte «Die Reise zum Glück» in einem Kinderbuch im net-Verlag.

Produzentin

Nadine Lüchinger

schloss 2010 ihr Studium in Ethnologie, Wirtschaft und Politik an der Universität Zürich ab. Im Rahmen ihrer Diplomarbeit realisierte sie als Autodidaktin den Dokumentarfilm LEBEN IN SEIFENBLASEN, was der Startschuss ihrer Karriere in der Filmbranche war. Der Film gewann zwei Preise und wurde an nationalen und internationalen Festivals gezeigt. 2011 begann sie ihre Tätigkeit im Bereich der Produktion bei verschiedenen Schweizer Produktionsfirmen. Seit 2014 arbeitet sie bei der Filmgerberei in Zürich als Produzentin für Kurz-, Lang- und Dokumentarfilme.

Produzent

Flavio Gerber

gründete 2008 zusammen mit seinem Bruder Silvio Gerber die Filmproduktionsfirma Filmgerberei GmbH. Als Produzent und Regisseur realisiert er Dokumentationen und Spielfilme sowie Unternehmens- und Werbefilme. Seine Leidenschaft gehört seit jeher den ungewöhnlichen und ungehörten Geschichten dieser Welt.

 

Regieassistenz

Cosima Frei

entdeckte während eines Austauschjahres in Neuseeland ihr Interesse am Film und schloss 2017 ihren Master in Regie Spielfilm an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste erfolgreich ab. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie für verschiedene Projekte als Regisseurin und als Regieassistentin, während sie zugleich am Drehbuch für ihren nächsten Spielfilm arbeitet.

Produktionsleitung in Kirgistan

Nadine Boller

wuchs in der Schweiz auf und lebt momentan in Bischkek, Kirgistan. 2013 schloss sie ihren Master in Filmwissenschaften und englischer Linguistik an der Universität Lausanne ab und besuchte danach einen intensiven Vollzeit Dokumentarfilmkurs an der MET Filmschule in Berlin. Als Filmemacherin und Kamerafrau realisierte sie bereits einige Filmprojekte in Kirgistan mit Fokus auf kulturelle und soziale Themen.

Serviceproduktion Kirgistan

Cholponai Borubaeva

schloss ihre Ausbildung in Filmregie in der Abteilung für Theater und Kino am kirgisischen staatlichen Institut der Künste ab. Als Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin produzierte sie verschiedene Kurzfilme und wirkte bei vielen Filmen als Regieassistenz mit.

Expertin für zentralasiatische Kulturen

Mahabat Sadyrbek

beschäftigt sich seit Jahren mit dem Rechtssystem Kirgistans. Ihre Dissertation (Institut für Zentralasiatische Studien, Humboldt Universität Berlin) ist ein wissenschaftliches Forschungsprojekt über die Formen des volkstümlichen Rechtssystems in (ländlichen) kirgisischen Gebieten. Sie analysierte, wie Kirgisen in Problemfällen Gerechtigkeit, Entschädigung, Bestrafung oder Wiedergutmachung suchen bzw. wie zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen aufgrund von negativen Ereignissen beendet werden. Die gebürtige Kirgisin kennt das Land aus erster Hand und arbeitet heute als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Max Planck Institut in Halle.