Director's Note

ALA KACHUU - Take and Run tells the story of a young Kyrgyz woman who becomes the victim of a bride kidnapping. Although this custom is prohibited by law in Kyrgyzstan it is still widespread in other regions of the world under the guise of tradition. Only a few girls are able to escape marriage after the kidnapping. Many accept their fate, for fear of being rejected and ostracized.

The film is based on the true fates of young women who have confided their experiences to me during my many years of research. I am convinced that the stories of these women deserve attention. As

a filmmaker, I would like to contribute to the sensitization of society for women's rights and give a voice to those who are rarely heard. The Kyrgyz name for the bride kidnapping is «Ala Kachuu». My aim was to depict its usual course of events, but with a strong character who has the courage to stand up for herself.

Producing the film in a foreign country was a great adventure. Apart from the language barrier, it was also necessary to bring together two completely different cultures. The respectful interaction with each other, the intercultural team spirit and the openness of the Kyrgyz people impressed me deeply and led to one of the most valuable experiences in my life.

Director's Note

ALA KACHUU – Take and Run erzählt die Geschichte einer jungen Kirgisin, die Opfer eines Brautraubs wird. Dieser Brauch ist in Kirgistan zwar gesetzlich verboten, aber unter dem Deckmantel der Tradition auch in anderen Regionen der Welt noch weit verbreitet. Nur wenige Mädchen können sich nach der Entführung der Ehe entziehen. Viele akzeptieren ihr Schicksal, aus Angst verstossen und geächtet zu werden.

Der Film basiert auf wahren Schicksalen junger Frauen, die mir ihre Erlebnisse während meiner langjährigen Recherche anvertraut haben. Ich bin überzeugt, dass die Geschichten dieser Frauen Aufmerksamkeit verdienen. Als

Filmemacherin möchte ich zur Sensibilisierung der Gesellschaft für die Rechte der Frauen beitragen und denjenigen eine Stimme geben, die selten gehört werden. Der kirgisische Name für den Brautraub ist «Ala Kachuu». Mein Ziel war es, seinen üblichen Ablauf darzustellen, jedoch mit einer starken Figur, die den Mut hat, für sich einzustehen.

Die Produktion des Films in einem fremden Land war ein grosses Abenteuer. Neben der Sprachbarriere galt es auch, zwei völlig verschiedene Kulturen zusammenzuführen. Der respektvolle Umgang miteinander, der interkulturelle Teamgeist, sowie die Offenheit des kirgisischen Volkes haben mich tief beeindruckt und führten zu einer der wertvollsten Erfahrungen in meinem Leben.